Alan Peters OBE

This annual award celebrates the legacy of one of Britain’s most prominent furniture designer-makers of the late 20th century while aiming to encourage emerging talent in the craft of furniture design and making.

Any woodworker who is a resident over the age of 18 who lives in the British Isles and who has a passion and talent for designing and making contemporary furniture is invited to submit up to two items of furniture made primarily of wood. These pieces, if applicants so wish, can also include other complementary materials that echo the philosophy of Alan Peters. Judging is based on the appropriate use of wood, the quality of workmanship, functionality and originality of design.
Both one-off designs and potential batch-produced designs are encouraged and the piece(s) does not have to be large. Applicants should be familiar with the work of Alan Peters prior to applying and are encouraged to read organiser Jeremy Broun’s 64-page online video-integrated ebook, which is offered free-of-charge (via the website link below).

The man behind the award

Alan Peters OBE (1933–2009) was one of Britain’s most prominent furniture designer-makers of the latter part of the 20th century. He was apprenticed to Edward Barnsley and had a direct link to the English Arts and Crafts Movement. He was hugely influential internationally in his practice, teaching and publications. Above all, his respect and understanding of how wood behaves and the value of hand skill, yet moving tradition forward, resulted in the creation of many timeless pieces. He created affordable, functional furniture which was made to last, making an art of his craft in some of his subtle innovations. 

History of the award

The original award was called ‘The Alan Peters Award For Excellence’ and was initiated by Jason Heap in 2010. The prize was offered to three winners, each of whom were given free exhibition space alongside the professionals at his annual furniture exhibition in Cheltenham. The award ran for eight years. The judges were Jason Heap, Keith Newton and Jeremy Broun.

Award judges

  • Jeremy Broun (organiser) – designer-maker and co-exhibitor with Alan Peters 1978–2002                      
  • Andrew Lawton – designer-maker who worked with Alan Peters and on his last commission                 
  • David Barron – professional furniture maker who also produces his own range of hand tools


Prizes offered

1st prize

£1,000 Axminster Tools voucher

2nd prize

£500 Triton Tools voucher

3rd prize

£300 Judges’ prize

Winning pieces will be exhibited in a virtual exhibition on Jeremy Broun’s website and other platforms to be announced.

Entry deadline is 28 February 2021 – a £20 entry fee applies and a maximum of two entries can be made.

This award is open to any resident citizen in the British Isles aged over 18 who has an enthusiasm and flair for woodworking. A piece of furniture (indoor or outdoor) is to be made and six high resolution JPEG images submitted, together with a Word document description. Shortlisted applicants will be asked to engage in a Zoom video call or submit a one-minute mobile phone video introducing themselves and describing the piece(s).

The judging of furniture pieces will take place in March 2021 with the online award ceremony broadcast in the second week of March. Winning entries will be announced in the April issue of the The Woodworker & Good Woodworking.

To see a video giving details of the award, click here

To download an application form and the 64-page e-book, please visit

The form can be found at the right of the page. Payment for entry can also be made securely via the website.

For further information, please contact either-

Group Editor, Tegan Foley (
Organiser, Jeremy Broun (

Organised by-

In collaboration with-