By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Crafts hobbyist

Recommended equipment

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Fiona Thompson 114/08/2014 22:07:38
1 forum posts

Hi. I'm new to this but have enjoyed reading Woodcarving magazines and have so far just stuck to making friends driftwood mirrors and little hanging boats and clocks. What I would like to know is what kind of cutting and drilling equipment would best suit my needs. I would be cutting pieces of reclaimed wood or driftwood, sanding etc plus cutting square or circle shapes from plywood approx. 15-20ins diameter.

I've been looking at the various Multi-drill kits but so many I wouldn't know where to start or would I be better off with a scroll saw or jigsaw?Any advice very much appreciated.

fiona

Brian Barber15/08/2014 23:03:37
160 forum posts
244 photos

Hi Fiona,

welcome to our site. You can gain a wealth of information here by just asking. So anyway in answer to your question by far the best tool you can purchase is a bandsaw. These are just brilliant at cutting just about any shapes in wood. Beware, however, with driftwood as it can sometimes be a little dangerous cutting three dimensional shapes on the bandsaw. They can jam or kickback. A little experience is necessary. No problem with flat pieces like plywood. The bandsaw is one tool I just could not do without.

Brian

Derek Lane15/08/2014 23:46:22
3204 forum posts
990 photos
Posted by Fiona Thompson 1 on 14/08/2014 22:07:38:

driftwood mirrors and little hanging boats and clocks.

fiona

Except for what you have mentioned above what other kind of stuff do you want to make.

For preparing the wood a bandsaw as Brian mentioned is a great tool with the correct blade it can cut quite small circles. I have a bandsaw and have changed the blade for on from Tuffsaws