By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

First Hand Made Project

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Gareth Hamilton28/04/2014 23:02:31
5 forum posts
4 photos

Hi everyone. I am pretty new to woodworking (Nov 2013) and currently completing a Level 2 course in Bench Joinery part time at my local college to get me a few basic skills and on the path towards a career in woodworking. I have a fondness of hand made craft and completed my first project with using only the tools you can see on the workbench in the image. I hope this is posted in the right place and hope you all like!

stool.jpg

Julian29/04/2014 10:06:59
556 forum posts
28 photos

Hi Gareth -- Thanks for posting the picture, a very good first attempt. You will always remember your first project especially one that has had a lot of time taken over it to get the details right. I must admire you though for being allowed to set up a workshop in your living room and not a shaving in sight devil --- Julian

Gareth Hamilton29/04/2014 11:51:38
5 forum posts
4 photos

The living room workshop is a very temporary measure - and it means I am forever brushing up. There are a lot of shavings but they currently reside in plastic bags. I have the best wife, really supportive and keen to learn bits and pieces too...

Ron Davis29/04/2014 19:43:43
1619 forum posts
201 photos

Nice stool Gareth, and not a power tool in sight! But even with a supportive wife I suspect a band saw or a planer would be a bit too much.

welcome to the forum and keep sending in pictures as you complete your next project

Ron

Derek Lane29/04/2014 21:59:29
3219 forum posts
1004 photos

Great job Gareth nice clean lines and a great piece to practice what you have learnt.

Look forward to some more of your work

Bryan Britt02/05/2014 14:09:27
4 forum posts

Hi Gareth -- Thanks for this picture. It's very great woodworking. Great job.

Edited By Steven on 02/05/2014 16:40:02