By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Scroll saw decisions (woodworker novice!)

Advice on which scroll saw to get

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Ed Bentall02/02/2014 02:01:48
2 forum posts

Hi everyone,

I've just surfed on in to 'getwoodworking.com' forum. I've had a little look round to see if there is any advice on scroll saws and I haven't seen anything recent so thought it was worth asking for some advice.

I am in the UK but shortly going back abroad and am a COMPLETE novice with all things craft. I have a few DIY tools but that is it. Recently (the last 2 months) I have started doing craftwork with coconut shell. I have had some REALLY positive responses with the pieces I've created so want to spend a bit of money on a scroll saw to speed up my work and also improve the quality/broaden my repertoire. Currently I'm using a hand fretsaw and a cheap version of a Dremel hi-speed spinny tool thing!

Looking at the market I can see there are plenty of 'cheap' models out there (I'm assuming they're all pretty similar and perhaps are all rebadged Chinese made items) and also some REALLY nice saws (Axminster Excalibur etc) that you'd probably find in professional workshops.

I'm somewhat reluctant to dive into a sub £100 model as if it's complete rubbish I'm stuck abroad without anywhere to go for help or enough cash to replace it. But I just cannot stretch to £500.00 Axminster Excalibur either at the moment. I've sort-of narrowed my choice down to the Proxxon DSH 2, the Dremel Moto Saw (somewhat put off by this as it needs its own blades) and the Scheppach SD1600F.

Can any nice well-balanced sensible individual (!!!) help a newbie make an informed choice on what to do?! I wouldn't rule out second-hand, but ebay doesn't seem to have anything exciting on offer right now. It's a shame the Which report doesn't test thing kind of product!

Thanks for anyone's point of view

Ed