By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Pull cuts

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Don McLaren17/11/2013 18:11:03
12 forum posts

Hi all, I hope this is the right place to ask this question. I am a self-taught turner and have attended 2 Axminster courses to develop techniques - but I still have a very long way to go. I have watched countless videos of the pull cut being used but have never mastered it and have had a few spectacular dig-ins! Do any of you have any pointers or advice for exercises to develop this skill? Also, are there any particular profiles for the gouge that are best suited for pull cuts? I am sure that one of the best ways to learn such things is to join a club - but I have searched the net and can find none within reasonable travelling distance of S Wiltshire/ E Dorset. Any tips or info gratefully received. Aye, Don

sad sam18/11/2013 18:58:18
597 forum posts
234 photos

hi don

i have whats known as a fingernail profile on my bowl and spindle gouges briefly they have elongated sides and i use them to clean up like a scraperwith a pull cut

hope this helps all you need is practice you will soon master it until then have lots of sand paper handy

Derek Lane18/11/2013 18:59:16
3218 forum posts
1004 photos

To start with a little about what tool are you using and how are you presenting it to the wood may help. Generally I use a bowl gauge to do a pull cut and have it on centre line with the flute facing into the work so that the lower wing is nearly scraping rather than try to cut as you would if you where to use it for forward cutting into a bowl. Another thing is that I use a finger nail grind on the one I use. Hope this makes sense

Don McLaren18/11/2013 23:00:25
12 forum posts