By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Self-taught or Vocational Training

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Gareth Hamilton29/09/2013 22:15:38
5 forum posts
4 photos

I am at that stage in live that I am sure many of you have been before me and I am wondering if a career change into woodworking would be better via the self taught route or the vocational training route.

If anyone has any suggestions or thoughts on the matter I would really appreciate reading them.

I am 33, I have spent a majority of my adult life working in an office and occassionaly toyed with the idea of becoming a carpenter on and off for as long as I can remember. It is only recently that I have realised that being successful doesn't always mean making lots of money and being a father of two children, having time for family life is important to me.

I don't have the finances or time to take a year out to participate in an intense course and am finding it increasingly difficult to find courses in Northern Ireland that don't involve already being imployed in the construction industry.

Thanks in advance.

Joe O 330/09/2013 02:54:13
203 forum posts

Welcome to this forum.

Make and post a project of your making and invite oppinion/critisisim and take it from there.

I wish you every success.

Joe.

Joe O 330/09/2013 14:58:13
203 forum posts

Check if your educational authority runs beginers evening classes.

If that doesn't work it would seem that you will have to go down the self taught route.

There are lots of good working magazines around and lots of informative You Tube tutorials. The members on this forum will help you with woodwork problems.

Sorry i can't be of more help. Hopefully someone more knowlegeable will log in.

Again, i hope things work out for you.

Big Al30/09/2013 17:06:35
1604 forum posts
73 photos