By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Rosewood jewellry box

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Sam Smit21/08/2013 20:00:16
13 forum posts
7 photos

image.jpgSo I'm new to all this and hope the community will welcome me I never really did have the chance to take up any sort of woodwork in school or whatever but I do occasionally pull out my own projects.. This is a jewellry box I made for my wife as a wedding present this week, the body is made out of meranti (had stock from an old project) with a rosewood inlay on the top and the draws are also rosewood.

Unfortunately all I had to work with here was a hacksaw, sand paper, a dremel tool with router base and wood glue (don't posses any fancy equipment yet, perhaps some suggestions on starter equipment?). The engraving on the top says 'for the love of my life' with our wedding date at the bottom.. This is also the first box I've made

Steven22/08/2013 10:37:37
143 forum posts
11 photos
367 articles

Nice work Sam,

Welcome to the forums, I hope your new wife was suitably impressed.

Quite an achievement given your very limited tool kit, particularly if a hacksaw was all you had for cutting.

I would suggest a few more basic hand tools for your next project and you’ll well away. Perhaps start with a tenon saw if you plan to keep your projects small, a hand saw as well would be helpful, a plane, again for small work I would suggest a block plane, quite expensive but invaluable in my opinion – try to stretch to a plane with full blade adjustment as the cheap basic versions are an absolute pain to adjust and lastly for now a few bevel edge chisels. As always when buying tools don’t buy cheap as it won’t do you or your work any favours.

It’s a good thing to start with hand tools – develop those skills and gradually move on power tools.

Look forward to seeing your future projects.

Steven

Derek Lane22/08/2013 18:16:59
3218 forum posts
1004 photos