By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Timber costs

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
James Carne08/07/2013 20:07:26
20 forum posts

Hi

I am fairly new to woodworking and starting out making a few bits of furnitre, I am currently making a toy chest for my new born neice.

The items I have made so far are from u/s redwood from a local softwood merchant and I have been paying approx £1.20 per metre for 3 x 1 PSE.

I am unsure whether this is a good price and would be interested to know how most of you source your timber and if you can recommend any good suppliers or sawmills.

Also I was thinking about making a coffee table for my lounge and perhaps trying Oak or Maple. Would welcome your thoughts on using these woods and some idea on costs? I know this tends to be priced per cubic foot, but just wanted some ideas so I do not get ripped off!

Thank you in advance.

James

Derek Lane08/07/2013 21:34:34
3219 forum posts
1004 photos

Hi Janes it may be helpful if you gave a rough area you are from so that someone might be able to point you in the right direction of suppliers and sawmills in your area.

As for prices i am not the one to help as Most of my work is from recycled wood.

James Carne08/07/2013 22:11:47
20 forum posts
Thank you Derek. I am based on suffolk essex border.
Big Al09/07/2013 07:33:46
1604 forum posts
73 photos

Hi James

When you see hardwood that is sold by the cubic foot it is usually rough sawn, so you need to bear this in mind especially if you don't have a planer. Some companies sell hardwoods by the running metre and these generally tend to be planed all round, but you will pay more for it.

Al

Simon Reeves09/07/2013 12:47:31
622 forum posts
227 photos

Hi James

If it's any help, the total timber cost for the oak kitchen table I made for my daughter was about £35. I guess a coffee table might be similar, but would obviously depend on thickness etc.

Table, unfinished