New to turning

Advice on which chisels to aquire

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Eugene Anderson04/03/2012 21:19:39
47 forum posts
21 photos

Guy's,

I have just got a small lathe and would like to ask for advice on which chisels to get to kick off with, I got it with the intention of turning some legs and handles etc for the boxes I make but I cannot see it stopping there and know I will have to have a go at other stuff so I would need some that would see me through a variety of basic tasks.

Ta.

Andy

paul wagstaffe04/03/2012 21:24:30
107 forum posts
11 photos

You and me both Andy, I am just starting out on this new chapter of my wood working hobby.

Good Luck!

Pau

Derek Lane05/03/2012 00:50:35
3219 forum posts
1004 photos

Buy the best you can afford they will see you right. Go for the better known brands such as Robert sorby, Crown, Hamlet and Ashley Ilkes.

Buying sets does not always work out the better option, but having said that I have got the Robert Sorby set of six which I find has all you will need to get you going until you need some more special chisels.

http://www.turners-retreat.co.uk/acatalog/Starter_Set.html

Also don't forget a bench grinder with a desent wheel (as the ones that come with them can be a bit harsh). Have a good look at sharpening your chisels as this is inportant to easy turning and getting a good finish. Don't be put off if you get a catch or two ( we have all had them).

If possible try and find a club near you or a turner who is happy to show you the basics.

Not checked you profiles yet but if you can give an idea roughly where you live someone may even volunteer

Eugene Anderson05/03/2012 10:06:38
47 forum posts
21 photos

Derek, many thanks for the advice, I think it always helps to get help from someone who knows what they are talking about and who has been down the same road.