By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

veneering

small box

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
small shed28/11/2011 15:35:54
16 forum posts
Hi to everyone,

Would anybody be able to help. I am quite new to woodworking.
The help i need is . How do you put veneer on a box, all sides and top , do i build it first , or after it has been veneered.
I was thinking how to clamp it, after it was built.
any advice would be great.

small shed
Gerrybhoy28/11/2011 16:20:04
104 forum posts
55 photos
Hi small shed.

I only ever tried veneering when I was at college, but the way I was shown was to do it all before the final build unless you want to cover the joints.

My own opinion is to do whatever you find the easiest & gives you the best result.

Gerry
Derek Lane28/11/2011 17:16:36
3204 forum posts
990 photos
There are glues which are activated by heat. You use a iron (not the good ladies) and a block of wood to press down and rub the veneer. Ideal for flat surface boxes. The veneer will need to be applied before you fit any of the box furniture so that when you do fit it is level to the veneer.
Hope this makes sense.
small shed29/11/2011 10:06:12
16 forum posts
Thank's for the reply,
If i made a box with dovetail joints, but wanted to put veneer on all side's , and show the joint's would i need to build after putting the veneer on. It will all be new to me you see,
but i want to try.

small shed
Simon Reeves29/11/2011 12:52:31
622 forum posts
227 photos
Hi Smallshed

If you look on the home page of the site and find the "What's new on GWTV" section, follow the More Video "Click here" link and scroll down the articles you will find a series on basic veneering techniques by Peter Dunsmore, which is very instructive. If you've not done any before I would recommend having a look at the whole series.

Simon
Eric Harvey 129/11/2011 12:53:21
221 forum posts
81 photos