By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Kauri Wood advice

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Kate Harding 103/10/2011 19:15:50
4 forum posts
I am a very inexperienced woodworker who loves wood. Last year I bought an unfinished Kauri wood coffee table top in New Zealand and had it shipped back to the UK. It's 40,000 years old, dug up from a bog. It's approx 1000 long and 400 wide and uneven in shape with bark still on most of the sloped edges.

I would like to to finish it myself to bring out the amazing grain in this red wood - and then find a wooden base to fix it too (I would hope to find a tree base with root spurs that I can level and - who knows how yet - fix the two together). I don't want to end up with a varnish / lacquer type shiny finish which is what I can find on the internet. I'm ready to do a lot of sanding!

Please can anyone recommend what I need to buy and do to finish this ancient piece of wood? A total layman's guide would be fantastic with Step 1, Step 2 etc.. would be ideal - I wouldn't feel patronised!

Thank you very much indeed,

Kate
dennis wake03/10/2011 22:39:12
2044 forum posts
1451 photos
1 articles
firstly welcome to the site
if you are wanting to flat the top i would get a orbital sander and gradually go through the grades of sand paper from 150 through to 400 using all the grades in between . when you sand , sand with the grain. in between each grade i would brush all the dust of the top. on finishing i would have a look through all the postings on the finishing heading on the forum. >>here<< is a start for you. good luck with the table and keep us all informed of your progress.
dennis
Big Al04/10/2011 07:00:09
1604 forum posts
73 photos
I would use rustins danish oil, it will give you the colour from the wood, and after 3 coats it would leave you with a matt satin finish.

Al
BillW04/10/2011 07:56:15
711 forum posts
21 photos
Hello and welcome Kate,