By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Absolute Novice - Working WIth Wood

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Kevin Parker19/09/2011 12:53:20
1 forum posts
Hi

Retiring next year and would love to make good use of my time. Can anyone suggest a real 'novice' book where I can start to pick up a few hints and tips? Any advice gladly rec'd.
sad sam19/09/2011 16:02:18
602 forum posts
238 photos
hi kevin
before you buy i would suggest that you visit your local libruary and brouse through what they have then decide on what you you would like to do then revisit the site there will be plenty of advice then available to you
we will be able to advise on tooling as well as projects and books and drawings
goodluck sadsam
Roger Provins19/09/2011 16:40:54
23 forum posts
We've all been tempted I'm sure but when the time comes to buy tools/machinery don't buy cheap ones. You'll only regret it later when you find out why they were cheap. Ask on here for opinions before you buy.

Good luck and I know you'll enjoy your retirement and the hobby!
Gerrybhoy19/09/2011 17:03:23
104 forum posts
55 photos

Hi Kevin,

Same answer as the previous guys have given you.
Read up on the various areas of woodwork - turning, furniture etc - and decide what you want to concentrate on.
Then shop about for different tools & machines, but take advice before you buy them.
The guys on her have a vast amount of knowledge between them and will keep you right.

Choose wisely, and you'll enjoy it for many years to come.
paul wagstaffe19/09/2011 19:23:35
107 forum posts
11 photos
Hi Kevin, I too am a bit of a novice with this wonderful hobby, I love working with wood and don't mind what i am making, from a box to keep my screws in to a router table (current project) I have found you tube to be a great educational tool have a look and subscribe to these.

http://www.youtube.com/user/stevinmarin

http://www.youtube.com/user/TeenWoodworker