By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

What are good starting tools?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Alan McLeod27/07/2011 21:12:55
11 forum posts
Hi everyone,

I have a goodly sized garage and no tools. My primary interest is cabinet making - I have never done anything like this before and am not sure it will be for me.

I don't want my first foray to be ruined by rubbish tools but neither do I want to spend too much on a hobby I may have no feel for. I want to get started with hand tools and then move onto power tools later, I have John Bullar's book on this topic and the projects look great but there is little to recommend which tools are good.

My own budget is probably about £200 for saws, plane, chisels, sharpening equipment. I can go comfortably above this if the benefts are major.

Can anyone suggest good brands / models?

Thanks all,
Alan
BillW28/07/2011 16:09:07
711 forum posts
21 photos
Hello Alan and welcome,
May I say I admire you attitude to getting started, very sensible and I can sympathise with you not wanting to pay to much to begin with.

For planes I don't think you could go far wrong with Record (now Irwin) or Stanley, I would get a smoothing plane and jack or fore plane, I would not get the inexpensive ones on this link.
Don't expect them to work perfect out of the box, they may need honing and setting up, the sole's will improve with use (polish).
You will have to learn early doors to sharpen chisel and plane blades, I would put as much if not more effort into this as using the tools, go to a couple of car boot sales and pick up some cheap chisels to practice on.

Crown, Stanley or the Hamlet set (HTC011) chisels would be more than adequate for first use, I can't see the benefit of the very expensive chisels unless you are using them every day to earn your living, the main benefit of such chisels is they keep there edge longer.