By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

shop jigs

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
small shed23/06/2011 16:47:10
16 forum posts
I would like to make a box jointer, could anybody tell me what size peg to make for the next slot, if i use a 1/4 straight router bit.
I am new to woodworking, but loving it

small shed
Drew Marsh23/06/2011 20:33:31
52 forum posts
26 photos
Now this is a thread I am going to keep a close eye on... I too have been toying with the idea of making such a jig, but have had no idea where to start. Is the Jig to be used on a router table?

I would be grateful if you could upload any photos/ status of your makings .

Drew
BillW23/06/2011 21:18:28
711 forum posts
21 photos
I've made one using this, watch the video, it is only for 1/4" and my peg is 1/4".
I've only used it to fine tune it, not made a box with it.

Bill.
small shed24/06/2011 08:39:12
16 forum posts
Hi BillW
thanks for the reply, i have watched the video. I will try and copy that one.
Mailee26/06/2011 00:04:39
1048 forum posts
1235 photos
This is the one I made:

Very simple but effective. The router bit protrudes through the table and the base board of the jig which is slotted. The wood is held to the push block and pushed over the bit. If it is too tight the base board is tapped over very slightly until it is a perfect fit. Once set you can run off box joints very quickly. I also use a spiral cutter. I made one for 1/2" and another for 1/4"
Ron Davis26/06/2011 21:09:38
1618 forum posts
201 photos