By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

New to site just saying hello

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
TANZARELLI18/04/2011 23:53:59
3 forum posts
1 photos
Hi all,

I am new to the site and just wanted to say hi.

I haven't done any wood turning yet but would like to give it a go. Hope to use the site to get some ideas of how to do this.

I am a Youth Worker by trade just going through redundancy with a locla authority youth service and love making things out of wood in my spare time.

I have made toy chests and use a lot of drift wood to make pictures and like to use mainly reclaimed materials whenever I can.

I do a lot of simple things currntley but hope to get more experienced when I have more time to spend working with wood.

Any tips will be most welcomed and thanks for access to a great forum. I can see there are some highly skilled wood workers on here.

Thanks

Tanz
Derek Lane19/04/2011 00:11:26
3219 forum posts
1004 photos
Hi Tanz welcome to the site I am sure you will get plenty of help. No question is silly if you don't know just ask away.

TANZARELLI19/04/2011 00:18:41
3 forum posts
1 photos
Thanks Derek.

I am sure I will have loads to ask. Been buying loats of tools lately, morticing machine, bench planer both Nu Tool. Also a cheap 3 wheel bandsaw - burgess BK3 MK11 which I picked up fo £19.00. Not got a lot of space so need to get things which I can move around my cellar etc so bit lathes would be a no no. Could you recomend a small one which might be good for a beginner at wood turning?

Or shall I start a thread in the lathe question section?

Tanz
Derek Lane19/04/2011 15:04:10
3219 forum posts
1004 photos
Try Axminster Tools for a small lathe HERE and HERE.
I have the first one and find it great ideal for small workshop. Also it has Variable speed which I find very helpful