By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

What price your work?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Simon Reeves30/03/2011 12:55:28
622 forum posts
227 photos
Dennis raised an interesting point about pricing your work, particularly pens etc, which worked out about 3x the materials cost + 15%. Without knowing this I reckon I have priced my pens in that ball park, with the cheapest wooden twist pen about £12, and the most expensive fountain pen using the most expensive acrylic around £48. Most of the stuff I sell seems to be just over the £22 mark but I'm sure there's a limit that most customers wouldn't go beyond.

Excluding the pros, who have to make a living, do other turners/woodworkers find the same?

Simon

PS I turned a couple of long(ish) staircase spindles for a colleague over the weekend, which took around 3 hours (I'm not too good at spindles, as you can tell!). Bearing in mind the materials probably only cost £1-2, what would you charge???

Edited By Simon Reeves on 30/03/2011 12:57:25

fatboy30/03/2011 14:59:45
169 forum posts
116 photos
not being a turner myself i would hesitate to give you a price for your spindles. i am a carver myself and when i do a sign for someone thats just lettering i charge £4 a letter up to 3 inch in height, i always have to bear in mind that someone buying a sign could go to someone else with a router and have it knocked out for 20 quid, the hard part comes when i have to charge for carved decoration, the method ive come up with is i charge £15 for a 3 x 3 inch square, i then work out how many squares roughly the design takes and tell them before starting what its gonna cost, with my materials i usually buy in my wood so i charge cost plus 25% this is to cover prep on the wood sanding time etc and finishing oiling or varnishing etc
BillW30/03/2011 21:23:22
711 forum posts
21 photos