By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Home made tool rest

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
BillW20/02/2011 22:50:55
711 forum posts
21 photos
I wanted to turn a Wren nesting box, when I got to hollowing out the body I couldn't reach inside with the standard rest supplied with the lathe so decided to make my own, I had some 16mm ground bar, chopped it up with an Evolution Rage3 mitre saw.
Evolution used to advertise on here , I can highly recommend this saw it cuts through metal as if it was cutting wood.

Here it is all glued together, I'm no expert welder but it held together.

And the finished nesting box, I was not aiming for a good finish, to much to learn on this project.

I hope they enjoy it.

Bill.

Edited By BillW on 20/02/2011 23:06:46

Wolfie21/02/2011 12:20:05
406 forum posts
76 photos

Well done Bill. I would never have thought that the evolution saw would have made it through 16 mm bar, shows what I know! Very nice end result .

cheers Ian
BillW21/02/2011 14:11:12
711 forum posts
21 photos
Neither did I Ian, I bought it because I have a wood burner, I get given all sorts of wood and got sick and tired of hitting nails with my jig saw.
At 25 quid a blade, I had to build up the courage to go for it, virtually NO sparks, just like cutting hard wood and it has made no difference to the blade, I have since cut the blanks for the Hawthorn pen.
Watch the video, I can vouch for it.

I can't remember where I got the bar from, had it ages but being ground I doubt that it's mild steel.

Bill.
Derek Lane21/02/2011 17:16:55
3219 forum posts
1004 photos
Great tool rest Bill. Could you have bent the bar this would give a smoother transition at the end or was it a case of being to short.

And by the way your welding is 100 X better than mine(mine looks like chicken s***)
BillW21/02/2011 17:29:26
711 forum posts
21 photos