By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Dust Control

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Brian Pugh05/11/2008 11:38:00
6 forum posts

I work in a 5metre square double garage. I have a Record 200c table saw, a Electra Beckum 316 bandsaw, router table and the usual power tools. I am a hobby woodworker and intend to spend quite a bit of time in my workshop. My question is what type of extraction do I fit into my workshop? Fixed or portable? I currently have a Record drum extractor with a 100mm hose that I bought a few years ago but it does not do a very good job especially on fine MDF dust. I also want to purchase a power tool dust extractor that captures MDF dust that I can use on site or in the workshop, any recomendations?

Thanks for any help you give me.

Brian

Doug05/11/2008 18:43:00
3415 forum posts
35 photos

Brian if you use the search forum facility above, you will find a number of threads that have covered this subject extensively.

Baz.

Don Heard20/11/2008 21:17:00
4 forum posts

I am looking for a tablesaw jig that allows me to taper a square section of stock like a table leg.

It consists of two sections of 2by1 or anything near and about 36in long. These are hinged at one end

a fixed semi circle of metal cut out in the centre to allow a guide fixed to one section at the other end

to move along the centre of the guide and the other end fixed. This will allow the 2 sections to open at one end and the angle determined and then a wing nut tightened onto the section via the metal curve.

I am sorry for not being the best at describing this jig, but if anybody knows of this jig they will recognise  my description. I only require a description of how to hold the stock in the jig in order to maintain safety when making the cut 

Heres hoping.   Don Heard

Doug20/11/2008 21:50:00
3415 forum posts
35 photos

Don,