By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Super Glue

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Derek Lane03/03/2010 22:25:03
3219 forum posts
1004 photos
As many of you are aware that I am partial to a bit of pen turning.

This involves using super glue (cyanoacrylate) as a finish and as of late I have found that it is starting to effect me with breathing and the like. What I would like to know is

1  What type of gas does this produce when heated through friction

2 What would be the best protection against it

This should get the tiny grey cells working
Delete03/03/2010 23:46:43
575 forum posts
Not being a Chemist I am guessing but I would be surprised if I am not close.

1.  The vapours given off are likely to be a Cyanide b\sed vapour. Not the sort of thing you should be breathing.

2. Your best protection is not to use this product as a Polish.

Any material containing Cyanide should be handled with care. WHen I was a Photographer we used to have Potassium Fericyanide in one of the processes. It can be absorbed by the skin and finger nails. 

Perhaps more important I would not wish to use a pen which had been finished with such a product  I hope you put a health warning on them.

Sorry to be such a Kill joy

Rog
Sparky04/03/2010 00:11:45
7631 forum posts
22 photos
 Derek
I would always use a dust/gas mask and in a well ventilated area........

This was taken from a 'Fuming' site..................

1. Cyanide gas is only formed if the glue temp rises above 400 degrees F.

2. When dealing with superglue, make sure you do not get any on yourself if you are wearing cotton clothing. Superglue reacts with cotton, and it will burn.

I also saw Formaldehyde mentioned!

Marc
Oddjob04/03/2010 09:15:48
1635 forum posts
79 photos
Derek