By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Finding a Lathe

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Geordie23/02/2010 00:14:16
7 forum posts
Hi folks,
I'm pretty new to this posting lark so I'll apologise first for my spelling !!

Thing is I'm in the market for a woodturning lathe, but as I'm a newcomer to the skill I've been wondering if I should buy a new machine or alternatively look for something second hand.

As there are no second hand dealers near me that I know of, I did what most bargain hunters do i.e. went straight to old faithful E Bay to see what was available, great I thought as there were more than 5 pages of lathe  "Stuff" offered for sale, I was even more happy when I spotted there were quite a few second hand and a few brand new machines there to study and maybe even bid for.

And here's where my problems arose, almost every lathe that looked even workable had, against delivery details, "To be Collected only", and just about every one was from areas around the middle of England.

Oh didnt I mention it ?, thing is I live up here in the north of Scoland near Aberdeen, you'll maybe remember Aberdeen, its the centre of the North Sea oil industry and must handle thousands and thousands of tons of road bourne frieght for dispatch to the hundreds of active rigs, every week.

Now Having seen that most of the second hand E Bay items were a bit out of my driving range I thought that the new M/C option probably was my only choice. This will be a lot easier I thought, but guess what, some of the suppliers that I started to contact who even had "Free delivery in the UK". will only deliver to adresses as far as Edinburgh !!! and anything farther north was either ignored or carried a hefty surcharge!!!.