By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Planer Thicknesser recommendation

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Jules19/02/2010 19:05:10
5 forum posts
Evening all

This is my first 'thread' so sorry if I get it wrong!.  I am a keen diy woodworker and am now looking for an  old planer thicknesser - so that you get a decent cast iron table with it.
The problem I have is that I was only looking at about £150 - a chance do you think? Also what would a good one be?

Grateful for any advice

Jules
Oddjob19/02/2010 19:33:43
1635 forum posts
79 photos
I reckon your chances of getting a decent one with a cast iron table fall somewhere between very slim and zero.  You may get one with an alloy table at or about your budget.

Richard
Olly Parry-Jones19/02/2010 19:43:49
2776 forum posts
636 photos
Welcome to the forum.

I'm inclined to agree with Richard... Unless you got very lucky, you're unlikely to get an old cast iron machine for that amount. Another consideration is that a lot of the old machines will be wired up for 415v so, unless you have a three-phase supply, you'd either have to spend another £100+ on an inverter to run it off 230v or buy a new motor and fit it. That's not to they're all like it; looking on eBay, that is how the majority appear. You may have to double your budget and keep your fingers crossed.
Delete20/02/2010 00:26:52
575 forum posts
The best machine you might have a chance of buying is a Schepach . The older ones had a steel table . Not as good as cast but I find mine perfectally adequate. It also gives a very good cut and came top in the Woodworker review some 6 or 7 years ago.
You might have to up your finances a bit  to get a good machine even without a Cast table.
Big Al20/02/2010 08:18:27
1604 forum posts
73 photos
I bought a sheppach 260 10 years ago, like roger mine has the steel table and it is a fantastic machine, very accurate.