By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Gwilym6821/12/2009 11:45:15
14 forum posts
36 photos

Hi all

I have been a member of this site for a couple of weeks now but have been sitting quietly in the background reading through the current and past threads which I have found enjoyable and informative.

I have been dabbling with wood for a few years now, mainly due to the purchase of a house in 2000 that was in need of restoration. I am by no means an expert just a very persistent Do It Yourself person.

Prior to August this year I was in the employment of the NHS but fortunately an opportunity arouse for me to take voluntary redundancy (fortunate because I had become very unhappy and disillusioned with the NHS)

Following this decision and after long discussions with the better half and having a young family it was decided that I would not look for further employment but to try and establish a business that could be run from home. Because of my love for wood and an artistic flare we decided to risk starting a family business RGL Garden and Property Maintenance Services, basically this will be a handyman service painting and decorating, gardening etc. but hopefully will be able to specialize in sheds made to order, garden planters, gazebos, kennels, hutches, garden toys and playhouses etc.

It was decided to use some of my redundancy money to establish the business this year in readiness for 2010, since the decision I have been re-designing the bottom of our garden and constructing a new workshop to replace my old one.

Following on from all your examples I have placed photos on my profile of the progress and will continue to contribute to the forum as and when possible. No doubt I will be seeking some advice because I’m continually learning as I go along, I will most probably make a few mistakes on the way, but like the saying goes you learn by them.