By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Hello everyone, I'm Lindsay!

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
lindsay harrison08/09/2009 22:05:50
11 forum posts
Hi all, I'm Lindsay. I'm totally new to woodwork but have just been bitten by the bug after finishing a house for my chickens. I enjoyed doing it so much that I'm desparate to do more. Unfortunately my enthusiasm is not matched by my skill! I'm really interested in making things like rabbit hutches, garden benches, house signs, kennels etc. I'd really like to do some training but my local colleges only seem to offer 2 year carpentry courses. I'm sure you used to be able to get short courses for home DIY to learn about basic tools and things. Does anyone know of any local (herts) or residential training courses that cover the sort of skills I need? Can anyone offer me any other advice for getting started with woodwork? Many thanks!
Ralph Harvey08/09/2009 23:47:26
3274 forum posts
315 photos
2 articles
Hi Lindsay and welcome to the site.

First things first, where abouts are you, i am sure there might be something in your area so if you fill in your profile  someone might be able to help

Ralph
lindsay harrison09/09/2009 01:27:50
11 forum posts
Thanks Ralph! I live on the herts/beds border near the M1. Lindsay.
Doug09/09/2009 07:04:11
3415 forum posts
35 photos
Hi Lindsay & welcome to the forum.

A good place to look for short courses is the back pages of the woodworking magazines.

Best of luck.

Baz
Woodie09/09/2009 09:29:36
103 forum posts
12 photos
Lindsay
Welcome.  If you are willing to travel then there is a very good instructor in Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire that I have been to.  He no longer advertises in GW but I have his details should you want them.  It would appear that I am not too far from you, about 5 miles north of Luton.
Let me know
John
lindsay harrison09/09/2009 13:23:31
11 forum posts