By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

best spindle moulder

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
David Self05/07/2009 11:13:01
5 forum posts
Hi all,
I want to invest in a spindle moulder for quite a lot of panel door making. Is there a model that anyone can recommend - max. £2000. What about the startrite t160?
Cheers in anticipation of continuing good advice.
Rob Johnson23/07/2009 18:32:45
378 forum posts
19 photos
The best Spindle I have ever used was an old Wadkin EQ, a heavy duty beastie with very little vibration and plenty of power to work effortlessly. Second to that was a German one that had adjustable "fingers" on the fence that could slide and lock close to the cutter block to negate the use of subfences (this was in Frankfurt, never seen it in the UK)
That said I actually own an Axminster one (so I can use my router cutters in it) and an old green thing of obscure parentage!
I have no experience of the Startrite T160, though I would strongly advise that any budget includes the purchase of a power feed. The power feed makes repetetive runs easier with smoother mouldings etc and above all much safer. ( I can switch my p/f between machines)
You have little in the way of information in your profile, so do you have any training or experience with these machines? My first day as an apprentice I was introduced to a machinist with only his middle finger and part of his thumb left on one hand, the rest had gone up the extractor on a spindle moulder. They require total concentration and respect.
jay 123/07/2009 20:59:45
72 forum posts
6 photos
hello rob or any one else out their will give me some advice on a power feed i got fox moulder looking at the axminster site they have power feed called co matic m3 has anyone got one
Rob Johnson24/07/2009 10:29:00
378 forum posts
19 photos