By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Bandsaw advice please

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Doug15/02/2008 20:35:00
3415 forum posts
35 photos

Hi all,

Bought a new Record bandsaw from the Ally Pally show,the BS3000X, it came with a blade but from what i`ve read its best to discard any blade you get with a new machine & buy a could quality one.

So the first question is are Record blades of a good quality. Second does anyone have any tips on setting up a bandsaw. Oh i should have said at the start i`ve never had a bandsaw before, even though i`ve been woodworking 31 years. So i`m a complete novice & would appreciate any advice.

Thanks in advance Baz.

Big Al15/02/2008 22:00:00
1596 forum posts
73 photos
Hi Baz Have a look at this video it may help http://s10.video.blip.tv/1410000184095/TheWoodWhisperer-Episode13BandsawSetupTuneup267.mp4 With regards to the blade, I bought a SIP 14" heavy duty bandsaw a few years ago and the blade that came with it was the best blade that I have ever had for it. Admittedly all circular saws (table, chop and portable) that I have bought came with crap blades. Al
Doug16/02/2008 21:01:00
3415 forum posts
35 photos

Al many thanks,

Have watched the wood whisperer, now feel more confident, the instructions that came with the bandsaw were not bad but the photographs were not very clear. It`s always a lot easier when you have watched something rather than just read about it, well at least it is for me, thanks again.

Baz.

Matthew Platt16/02/2008 22:37:00
347 forum posts
9 photos

Hi Baz,

Congratulations on your new purchase.