By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

I need wood!!!

cant find wood anywhere!

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Wesley Budd17/12/2007 11:28:00
2 forum posts

Hi There,

Im new to the world of woodworking and i really want to start putting some projects together. The only trouble im finding is that i cant find any reasonably priced wood! I dont want to go expensive because i need to practice. The problem is i dont know any timber yards near me. Im based in Berkshire can anyone suggest anywhere that sells reasonably priced wood?

thanks

wes

Oddjob17/12/2007 14:58:00
1635 forum posts
79 photos

Try Yellow Pages.  I feel sure that you will find plenty of wood - look under Timber Merchants.  Many of them will not do hardwood but of those that do, most will supply you with useable offcuts at reasonable prices.

Alternatively, all woodworking magazines have classified ads that include timber suppliers who do mail order - not cheap though due to carriage costs.

Good luck.

Big Al17/12/2007 20:37:00
1604 forum posts
73 photos