By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Wood Routing

General advice

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Ian Brown08/09/2007 23:15:00
3 forum posts

Hello All

I am a new member to this site and wish to open my account by asking for some product information / advice.

I have recently purchased a T-Tech TT/R127 2050W Router, this machine bears the Trend logo but i believe that it is made for the B&Q range of products, can anyone tell me how these machines fair / compare with the Trend products, do trend accessory products fit and generally any tips as i am new to the routing scene.

Andy King10/09/2007 10:22:00
170 forum posts
8 photos
19 articles
Hi Ian, If I recall correctly, the T-Tech router is badged by Trend but exclusive to the B&Q stores, so doesn't appear on Trend's website. I think there is also a similar range of accessories or cutters along the same lines. I would say that while the 'Pro' Trend routers (T5, T9, T10, T11) are European manufactured, the T-Tech look to be very similar to the B&Q Performance Pro range, so probably coming out of China. It doesn't necessarily make it a bad tool, but it may have limitations in overall build quality and durability, and if its anything like other 'badged' Chinese products, it can be a bit pot luck as to the actual performance as the quality control is nowhere near as stringent as the name brand tool manufacturers such as DeWalt, Makita etc, and also Trend's own high end stuff. It may be that trend have more input in the factory supplying the T-Tech though, so spares, aftersales service and even quality control may be better than the usual 'box shifting' type powertools from China that all look the same, but for colour and a few cosmetic changes on adjusters. Andy
Ian Brown11/09/2007 19:19:00
3 forum posts