By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Bandsaw - Ripping down

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Wilf.T02/04/2019 11:01:05
20 forum posts
2 photos
Am I expecting too much of a bandsaw?
I'll admit I'm new to using one but have used a Table Saw for years. As part of downsizing my 'Toyshop' (Workshop - but the wife says it where I go to play with 'big boys toys'!) I've bought a Bandsaw.
So whilst it will cut curves pretty good and I find it invaluable for cutting Tenons when I try to rip a length of timber I am unable to get a straight cut. The blade seems to wander or pull the timber away from the fence. I've spent hours fettling the machine up; fence is parallel with the blade (set using a ruler with the edge in the gullet of the blade), set the clearance on the blade guide rollers to a couple of paper thickness's either side (and check or reset after I move the blade guard).
I even tried a new blade kept especially for straight cuts. Taken the machine back to the factory to let them look at it. At the factory it cut straight over a 12inch piece of deal but once home it's still no better, wandering when trying to cut a 4 foot piece. It's both frustrating and wasteful.
I believe I have the blade tension correct ? a 'sharp' tone when the blade is plucked.
Have to admit I'm about at the point of buying a cheap Table Saw just to get over this problem.

Edited By Wilf.T on 02/04/2019 11:01:20

Edited By Wilf.T on 02/04/2019 11:06:31

Edited By Wilf.T on 02/04/2019 11:07:01

Derek Lane02/04/2019 14:55:44
3204 forum posts
990 photos

Check the blade tracking this will effect the way the blade cuts. You will need to readjust the roller guides at the same time as they may not sit where they should once the tracking is moved

Ron Davis02/04/2019 19:41:46
1607 forum posts
201 photos