By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

New to woodworking–need advice

gathering opinions on the topic discussed

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Adam Clapton01/02/2019 08:56:57
2 forum posts

Hi!
I’m new to woodworking, and want to set up my own beginner’s woodshop. I have built one table so far through the California College of Arts and Crafts–and LOVED it. Now I want to start practicing on my own, but I don’t know where to begin. Do I need to have power tools? If so, what should I start with? What hand tools do I need? Any advice is appreciated!

Edited By Derek Lane on 01/02/2019 13:48:45

Brian Barber03/02/2019 18:41:58
160 forum posts
244 photos

Hi Adam,

Well I was a beginner many years ago and it does take a long time to get to know what you need, I tend to buy anything and every that I fancy. Being serious the main thing is to become proficient in using and sharpening hand tools. The main tools you will need are good quality hand planes ( ideally Lie Nielsen or Clifton) and a good set of chisels ( Lie Nielsen are about the best you can get, although very expensive) and some hand saws. Yes power tools are very important, in order of preference I would suggest, Impact drill driver, Band Saw, Router, Table Saw, then Morticing machine.

At the cheaper end of the market you will of course need a variety of tools such as rulers, squares gauges etc.

Hope this helps

Brian

Julian05/02/2019 12:53:23
547 forum posts
28 photos