By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Geordie

Here is a list of all the postings Geordie has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Comments Welcome
20/07/2010 16:22:23
Well Derek as a complete novice at this turning lark I was in the same state of mind as you before I bought my one about 6 months ago.

I settled on the 1000 because it had the larger motor, a 1 metre bed, and importantly was fitted with the heavier no2 Morse fittings. and best of all was one of the cheapest models available !!       I also reckoned at the time that a big quality company like Axminster was unlikely to put its name against a suspect product. 

If you look at its drive system though its almost exactly the same as quite a few others in the same price range e.g. the Draper etc. so its fairly safe to say that Axminster didn't build it themselves.

The whole thing came well packed in a single box, and although the instructions said it was a two man job to assemble, I managed the task by myself, I am a big guy however. Thankfully All of the support components fitted well together and the hardest part of the  assembly was lifting the main drive onto the cast iron bed 

The quality of the sub components were as you might expect from a cheap machine i.e. the cast iron bed was delivered unpainted and as such looked a but "rough" but after saying that the rest of the support components were ok and the machining on the bed was OK.

I had a little worry when I tested the tailstock to main drive center heights when I found a very slight difference in the two, but so little that a proper clean of the bed and casting faces would have probably fixed it, My background is in high precision engineering though so maybe I am fussier than others may be.