By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Derek Lane

Here is a list of all the postings Derek Lane has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Great high chair for my buddy
19/08/2019 18:00:15

I think the easiest thing to do is search the internet images and find one you like and work from that. I have no experience of making a high chair and that is where I would start.

Sorry can't be any more help than that

Thread: Want to start woodworking
21/07/2019 08:54:15
Posted by Wilf.T on 16/07/2019 10:46:35:

Sandpaper of 3 different grits >>WT<< just a roll of 80 or 120 Grit – as used it will get softer (finer) grit.

Once you have used sandpaper it does not become "softer" it looses it ability to do its job.

Once sandpaper is used go to the next grit this will ensure optimum abrasion with it. It is one of the fastest moving pieces in my workshop.

Not only that but the idea of moving through the grits is to remove the scratches from the previous paper. Never jump more than 100 grit between paper changes this makes it easier to get rid of scratches from the one used before

Thread: Teesside woodturner charity give away
14/07/2019 10:20:36

How about some little bird houses

dscf6553 (2).jpg

Thread: Red wood slab
11/07/2019 20:16:13

It will take a very long time to dry normally 1" per year plus 1 year but the problem is that it is a very thick piece and can take a lot longer. If it is still wet/green then the ends ideally would need to be sealed to slow the drying and hopefully prevent it splitting from the end grain.

A moisture meter will only tell you the moisture on the surface or as deep as the probes can penetrate

Thread: Workshop heating and humidity
13/05/2019 08:54:38