By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Jason Denby

Here is a list of all the postings Jason Denby has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Bowl turning gouges/scrapers
16/02/2018 17:30:04

i am new to woodturning and bought a set of nice gouges from ebay, but just feel I have something missing to assist me in my bowl making quest? Or would I be better investing in a better chuck and faceplate maybe! All advice welcome

Thread: Rippled pot
16/02/2018 17:25:51
Posted by Derek Lane on 13/02/2018 15:49:34:

This piece with the ripples was from a tutorial of ripple surface effect by Dennis Gooding on another site his was a random ripple and he got a 50% success rate so I was pretty pleased to have managed to complete this on my first but then I did cheat to get mine to ripple and in a more uniform way

Edited By Derek Lane on 13/02/2018 15:50:21

Lovely piece of work again Derek, I’m intrigued as to how you have achieved this though!!

Thread: Oak vase
16/02/2018 17:23:56

Lovely vase Derek hoping I may be able to get to this standard with a bit more practice.

Thread: Power chuck
08/02/2018 15:42:48
Posted by Jason Denby on 08/02/2018 15:37:46:
Posted by Derek Lane on 04/02/2018 10:34:09:

If it is one of their scroll chucks there are many out there that have them. I use a Robert Sorby Patriot chuck which is also a scroll chuck they are great for turning. Which model is it or could you post a picture.

It is always awkward to go by one persons point of view you really need a few to get a better idea what a product is like.

HI Derek,

I will attach a picture of my chuck as now received it.,

40529e1c-e114-4091-b72d-ee513c0dc569.jpeg

08/02/2018 15:37:46
Posted by Derek Lane on 04/02/2018 10:34:09: