Alan Peters OBE

Update 27 March 2020

Unfortunately, the Coronavirus outbreak, and the ensuing lockdown, has affected the upcoming 2020 Alan Peters Furniture Award’s judging venue – Axminster Tools & Machinery’s Nuneaton store – which will be closed, as with many others, for the foreseeable future. Editor, Tegan Foley, the judges and sponsors have therefore agreed that postponing the award deadline until next year is likely the best course of action to take given these uncertain circumstances. Doing so will allow you to spend more time on your entry, and we hope attract more people to get involved. So if you are eligible to enter, please use this extra time and the enforced self-isolation to work on your piece. If you do have any questions regarding this, please either email Tegan Foley ( or Jeremy Broun ( who will be able to assist you further.
Thank you for your understanding and cooperation

Don’t miss out on the opportunity to be part of this prestigious annual award, which champions UK furniture designing and making talent while celebrating the life and work of the late Alan Peters OBE

This newly evolved annual award celebrates the legacy of one of Britain’s most prominent furniture designermakers of the late 20th century – Alan Peters OBE – while aiming to encourage emerging talent in the craft of furniture design and making.

Any woodworker who is a resident UK citizen over the age of 18, and who has a passion and talent for designing and making contemporary furniture, is invited to submit up to two items of furniture that echo the philosophy of Alan Peters. Judging is based on the appropriate use of wood, the quality of workmanship, functionality and originality of design. Both one-off designs and potential batch-produced designs are encouraged.

Applicants should be familiar with the work of Alan Peters prior to applying and are encouraged to read Jeremy Broun’s 64-page video-integrated online e-book, which is offered free-of-charge (via the website link below).

The man behind the award

Alan Peters OBE (1933–2009) was one of Britain’s most prominent furniture designermakers of the latter part of the 20th century.
He was apprenticed to Edward Barnsley and had a direct link to the English Arts and Crafts Movement. He was hugely influential internationally in his practice, teaching and publications. Above all, his respect and understanding of how wood behaves and the value of hand skill, yet moving tradition forward, resulted in the creation of many timeless pieces. He created affordable functional furniture, which was made to last, making an art of his craft in some of his subtle innovations.

History of the award

The original award was called ‘The Alan Peters Award For Excellence’ and was initiated by Jason Heap in 2010. The prize was offered to three winners, each of whom were given free exhibition space alongside the professionals at his annual furniture exhibition in Cheltenham. The award ran for eight years, and some of the past winning pieces are shown here. The judges were Jason Heap, David Barron and Jeremy Broun.

Award judges

Jeremy Broun (organiser) – designer-maker and co-exhibitor with Alan Peters 1978–2002;
Andrew Lawton – designer-maker who worked with Alan Peters and on his last commission;
David Barron - established maker of fine furniture and long-time admirer of Alan Peters

Prizes Offered

1st prize

£1,000 Axminster Tools & Machinery voucher

2nd prize

£500 Triton Tools voucher

3rd prize

£300 Judges’ prize

Winning pieces will be exhibited at Axminster’s Nuneaton store and then at The Wilson Gallery (Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum).

Award deadline is currently open-ended due to the postponement. Entries can be submitted any time up to this date. A £20 entry fee applies and a maximum of two entries can be made (£20 per entry).

The judging ceremony will be held at Axminster’s Nuneaton store in 2021 (date TBC), and an exhibition at the store will run afterwards.

Following this, the pieces will then be exhibited at The Wilson Gallery – dates to be confirmed.

To download an application form and the 64-page e-book, please visit

The form can be found at the right of the page. Payment for entry can also be made securely via the website.

For further information, please contact either-

Group Editor, Tegan Foley (
Organiser, Jeremy Broun (

Organised by-

In collaboration with-