design guild mark logo


Design Guild Mark 2014 announces Award recipients


The Furniture Makers’ Company is pleased to announce the Design Guild Mark 2014 award recipients.

The Design Guild Mark, now in its seventh year since launching in 2008, rewards excellence in the design of furniture in volume production. By the award of this Guild Mark for designs which meet The Furniture Makers’ Company criteria, the designers receive due recognition and the industry is made more aware of the importance of investment in design.

The Design Guild Mark rewards the work of the finest furniture designers working in volume production and the best of British furniture designers working abroad.


Chaired by Graham Jones the eminent judges were:

Simon Alderson - twentytwentyone

Joanna Biggs ­­- GA Design

Malaika Byng - Wallpaper*

Barbara Chandler - The Evening Standard

Lee Cheong - University of Portsmouth

Nick Hill - Marks & Spencer

Diana Monkhouse - Aukett Swanke

Jeremy Myerson - Helen Hamlyn Foundation

Jason Wilary-Attew - John Lewis

All judges with an interest in an entry stood aside when that entry was being considered.

The criteria are for excellence in four fields - design, the use of materials, manufacture and function. The Design Guild Mark raises awareness of design and British design talent. The industry as a whole seems to be becoming more design-led with its customers now able to “buy more design for their money.”


Graham Jones, Chairman of the Design Guild Mark commented:

"This year has been particularly exciting. We have seen a record number of entries that suggests the Design Guild Mark is really gaining awareness and value. We also had a number of new judges who were open and energetic about what they saw and heard. Most significantly, we had many first time applicants and, particularly, young applicants, who really expressed a passion for their craft and for why they wanted to apply for a DGM."

A gallery of the Awards is displayed here