By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Braced plank door

Any guidance appreciated

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Roland Stokes02/05/2017 20:32:26
1 forum posts

hi all

I make Marquees, one-off curves canvas ones, to hire. For my latest one I am making a double door for the entrance, which is through a bolt together Timber framed porch. The opening is 2150mm, so these will be double doors, I wanted to make rustic looking braced doors. To save some weight I have gone for Douglas fir, ( well seasoned from Whitney sawmills).

I was researching (as I am an amateur, love woodworking but definitely learning) and was impressed with forum post about braced doors on this site. From this I have decided on 4 braces. As door will be exposed to weather have also deduced not to glue. I have cut down approx 150mm by 22mm boards on my Sedgwick table saw, these are planes and sanded, although I have just rejected 4 so will cut another 5 tomorrow.

I had 2 boards with a lovely waney curved edge and was originally going to have these two meet in middle backed by vertical frame so no gap but lovely shape made(hope this makes sense) I am going off this idea as would need vertical frame both sides and might end up being neither one thing or another.

I'm not keen on bent over nails (sorry great on listed building, but somehow not right for this) and was wondering how to join braces to planks ( not t&g). Would enough nails not bent over (say 2mm short of piercing far-side) do? I have some lovely old copper nails, would these work, in terms of rose headed nails do they have to be bent over. Brass/ copper rivets? Screwing and plugging an option seems a bit faffy.